Follow Us On

Paths of Yoga

Satyananda yoga is described as integral, in that it incorporates several types of yoga in its practices. It ensures that the practitioner makes the best use of all aspects of yoga.

Karma Yoga

The term ‘Karma’ is derived from the Sanskrit word, ‘Kri’ which means ‘to do’. And since the word ‘yoga’ means ‘to unite’, Karma Yoga literally translates to ‘union through action’. In Vedantic philosophy, its meaning may extend to both the action as well as the affects of the action conducted in meditative awareness.

Bhakti Yoga

“This form of yoga is described as the fostering of love, utter faith and complete surrender to God. It is considered as the easiest and most direct yogic approach to the union of the body, the mind and the soul.

Hatha Yoga

Although the term Hatha literally translates to ‘force’, yogic literature defines the word as a combination of the words ‘ham’ and ‘tham’.

Jnana Yoga

The word ‘Jnana’ literally means knowledge and wisdom, but the Upanishads define this yoga as a means to achieve intuitive ability and the meditative state. This aspect of yoga works as a self analysis that invokes inner knowledge and truths of the personal being. The ultimate goal of this process is the discovery of the true self.

Kriya Yoga

Kriya Yoga was a well known form of yoga in ancient India, but was lost in the secrecy of the priests who practiced it. The yogic form was brought back by Swami Satyananda Saraswati from the secret teachings described in the Yoga and the Tantra Shastras. It consists of more than 70 Kriyas of which, only 20 or so are known.

Read More
Raja Yoga

Every thought, feeling, perception, or memory you may have causes a modification, or ripple, in the mind. It distorts and colors the mental mirror. If you can restrain the mind from forming into modifications, there will be no distortion, and you will experience your true Self.
—Swami Satchidananda

Read More